Home | Sitemap | Contact Us

Home > About us > Who we are > Scientific Advisory Council
Scientific Advisory Council

sdkProfessor Steen Dalby Kristensen

Professor Steen Dalby Kristensen specialises in cardiology and internal medicine. He is currently Professor of Cardiology at Aarhus University Hospital, Denmark and is head of the Cardiovascular Research Centre there. He has a particular interest in thrombosis and anti-thrombotic treatment, coronary artery disease, acute cardiac care and percutaneous coronary interventions. He is author and co-author of more than 200 scientific papers and several book chapters, he is currently editing a textbook on anti-thrombotic therapy, and is editor of the European Heart Journal and Thrombosis and Haemostasis. He has served for a number of years on various committees of the European Society of Cardiology, and is currently its Secretary & Treasurer. Until September 2012 Professor Kristensen served as Chairman of Stent For Life Initiative.

nmProfessor Neil Marlow

Dr Neil Marlow is Professor of Neonatal Medicine, University College London. He was Professor of Neonatal Medicine at the University of Nottingham from 1998-2008. He is the chief investigator of the EPICure Studies, two of the largest longitudinal studies of extremely preterm birth. Neil is immediate past President of the European Society for Pediatric Research.  He was elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2007 and awarded the honour of Honorary Life Friend by Bliss, the UK premature babies charity in recognition of his contribution to clinical care.  Neil's current research profile includes ongoing longitudinal population studies, several randomised trials of neonatal and antenatal intervention with childhood outcomes, biomarker discovery for preterm developmental problems and an investigation into parental experience of decision making and issues surrounding end of life decisions in neonatal care




sdkDr Mike Osborn

Dr Michael Osborn qualified in Medicine in 1995 from Guys & St Thomas’ Hospitals, University of London. Having obtained membership of the Royal College of Surgeons he went on to train as a Histopathologist obtaining Membership of the Royal College of Pathologists in 2004 and becoming a consultant in 2006. He specialises in gastrointestinal pathology and post mortem pathology. He conducts post mortems for his own local Coroner and for other jurisdictions. He is the Royal College of Pathologists Sub-Speciality Adviser in Non Forensic Autopsy; sits on the Histopathology Working Group of the Human Tissue Authority and is Honorary President of the Association of Anatomical Pathology Technology. He runs a BSc module dealing with ethical and legal issues around death, dying and the post mortem and has published and presented material relating to these topics. He is currently working to update the Royal College of Pathologists guidelines relating to post mortems and related issues.



© ECCF, 100 rue du Rhône, 1211 Geneva, Switzerland